In Search of a Story

 We are delighted to announce the birth of Daphne de Jong's final collection of short stories.

The story waits in the shadows. The writer has a deadline and the story wants to be told, but the story has patience. It is in no hurry.

The writer gets up from the computer and goes for a walk, hoping the story will emerge and show itself, or at least give some hint of its being—a scent, a slight stirring, a restless rustling or a small anticipatory shiver.

Award winning writer Daphne de Jong opens up the files to deliver this final collection of short stories. In this collection Daphne explores life, death, love and relationships. Each story shows a twist of the muse that hooks the reader and stays with them long after the story finishes.

Daphne de Jong was born in Dargaville. Her first published story was written at sixteen and she went on to write over eighty romance novels and achieve national and international success in this genre.

Literary Prizes include the Bank of New Zealand Katherine Mansfield Short Story Award (1981) and the Lilian Ida Smith (PEN NZ) Award for short non-fiction (1986).

Her poems and short stories have been published in magazines and broadcast both in New Zealand and overseas. Stories have been included in anthologies by Oxford University Press, New Women’s Press, in collaborative collections with other prizewinning authors and a previous solo collection, Crossing the Bar.

Book Details

ISBN: 978-1-99-118546-4 (paperback) 6 x 9in, 128 pages. Price $18.00 NZD

ISBN: 978-1-99-118547-1 (epub) Available at all Ebook stores

Paperback Available from the Publisher, Ingram, Wheelers, All Books, Amazon.



The First Star- Coming Soon


Book 3 in the Star Light Series.

Noah can’t wait to go home. He doesn’t fit in and his family won't miss him. He never dreamed he would end up living in a nightmare. Who can he trust?

The pirates who take him in, his protector who abandoned him, or is he just bait in an elaborate trap?


The First Star continues the story of the Fraser family caught between worlds, hunted by aliens, and holding the key to the survival of Earth.

The First Star is available in epub everywhere... and in print soon.


Sneaking In

 Just sneaking into the end of 2020 was the first book in a new series from Maureen Crisp

This series is for children (10 -14) who look up at the sky and wonder... is there anyone out there? 

Hidden away, four children are being kept from the outside world. What secrets do they know? Why are their lives in danger if they are discovered? 


Caleb’s safe world begins to crumble when he starts to hear voices that no one else can hear. His mother disappeared after she heard the voices. Will this happen to him too? How can he protect his family? The answers challenge everything he thought he knew and change his future on the planet forever. 


Star Light begins the story of the Fraser family caught between worlds, hunted by aliens, and holding the key to the survival of Earth.

Print copies will be available next month.


Circus Games Prizes.

We are delighted to sponsor the Prize Packs for the Circus Games, an initiative of The Circus Hub in Wellington. To keep kids active during the coronavirus lockdown The Circus Hub are posting challenges on their website for families to do.  Just go to their communities page.


Another Circus Book is on it's way....

Introducing Book Four in the Circus Quest Series...

Tumbling Town

Tumbles, trips and falls. The circus games are here. 
Kestrel and Skye each face their biggest challenge when 
Circus Charles bumps into The Rainbow Revels. 
May the best circus win.

Tumbling Town will be available in shops at the end of January 2020. 


Two New Books Arrive

It's been an exciting time at Marmac Media today. 

TWO boxes of books arrived. 

The first copies of Book 3 in the Circus Quest series. 


A new Junior Fiction tale from Maureen Crisp

With Rockstars and Circus Mayhem filling the office... it's never a dull moment.  Both books are available to order now.